# EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE

## Minutes of the meeting held on 19 October 2021

PRESENT: Councillor Robert Llewelyn Jones (Chair)

Councillors John Griffith, Vaughan Hughes, Eric Wyn Jones, Robert G Parry, OBE, FRAgS, Dylan Rees, Dafydd Roberts,

John Arwel Roberts

**IN ATTENDANCE:** Head of Democratic Services

Committee Officer (SC)

**APOLOGIES:** Councillor Richard Griffiths

### 1 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

#### 2 MINUTES

The minutes of the previous meeting held on 29 July 2021 were presented and confirmed as correct.

The Head of Democratic Services reported that an extraordinary meeting of the Democratic Services Committee will need to be convened next month to discuss the Council's response to the Independent Remuneration Panel (IRP)'s draft report, before the closing date for observations on 26 November 2021.

#### 3 REVIEW OF PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES

The Head of Democratic Services reported that the Boundary Commission for Wales has commenced its 2023 review of Parliamentary Constituencies in Wales, in accordance with the provisions of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986. Initial proposals have been published for consultation, with a closing date of 3 November for observations.

The Head of Democratic Services reported that the proposals recommend reducing the number of constituencies from 40 to 32 in Wales. The Ynys Môn Constituency is not subject to any changes, nor is the name of the constituency.

It was noted that a case to safeguard the Ynys Môn Constituency was made in 2017, as part of the last review.

The Head of Democratic Services reported that it is proposed to reduce the number of constituencies in Wales from 40 to 32. Concerns were raised regarding the impact this reduction would have on Wales and its democratic voice.

RESOLVED to welcome the proposals for the Parliamentary constituency of Ynys Môn, as set out in the consultation document, and recommend accordingly to the County Council.

The meeting concluded at 10.40 am

COUNCILLOR ROBERT LL JONES
CHAIR